How to enable or disable services in Gentoo

Gentoo Linux also uses a script to enable or disable services during boot-up. The name of the script is rc-update. Gentoo has three default run levels. They are –

  1. boot,
  2. default and
  3. nonetwork.


How to enable a service

Lets set Apache web server to start in the default runlevel.

# rc-update add apache2 default


How to disable a service

To remove the web server, use the del option as follows.

# rc-update del apache2

List all running services

 To list all the running services at your run level and check their status, you use the rc-status command.
# rc-status --all

Leave a Reply